Frances E. Smith Scheidel Scholarship

The Frances E. Smith Scheidel Scholarship fund was established in 2007, thanks to the generosity of Mrs. Scheidel, whose personal history included returning after a significant interruption to complete her Illinois degree.

Scholarships are awarded to undergraduate students majoring in one of the academic units of the School of Literatures, Cultures & Linguistics (SLCL) within the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences at the University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign. Specifically, the scholarships are awarded to students who have overcome significant hurdles to achieve academic success. Recipients must be enrolled in one of the SLCL's academic units in the year they hold the award.

Whenever possible, and if candidates can be identified, preference will be given to female students returning to higher education after an interruption due to various circumstances and who have demonstrated financial need.

The scholarship may be used for any education-related expenses, including tuition, fees, books, childcare, supplies, parking, transportation, and room and board.

Up to four $1,000 scholarships may be awarded for the academic year.

Apply now (Applications are due April 1, 2022)

2021-2022 Recipients
Manuel Fernandez, Spanish
Adriana Guevara, Spanish 
Johana Machuca, Spanish
Riley Masterson, French

2019-2020 Recipients 
Maxine Katz, Religion
Deniz Namik, Spanish
Saul Rivera, Italian
Kari Schwink, Linguistics

2018-2019 Recipients
Sean Chapman, Linguistics
Jamie Hendrickson, Slavic
Amelia Reggi, Italian

2017-2018 Recipients
Ana Elissa Cabrera, Linguistics
Amelia Reggi, Italian
Jessica Romero, Spanish/Portuguese

2016-2017 Recipients
Emily Doehring, Linguistics (ESL)
Taylor Erwin, Linguistics
Nichole Startz, French
Sarah Weldy, Linguistics

2015-2016 Recipients
Kelly Atkinson, Spanish
Antoniette Martin, CWL
Mark McCarthy, EALC
Stephanie Osborne, Linguistics (ESL)

2014-2015 Recipients
Kelly Atkinson, Spanish
Keren Garcia, Italian
Amanda Oster, Italian
Lucy Wright, French

2013-2014 Recipients
Brittany Coleman, French 
Mark McCarthy, EALC
Genevieve Scheele, EALC

2012-2013 Recipients
Monet Colomb, EALC/German
Shelby Luzzi, Spanish

2011-2012 Recipients
Ashley Czaplicki, Spanish
Caroline DeLonga, EALC
Alisha Gryniewicz, Spanish
Amanda Poore, Linguistics

2010-2011 Recipients
Karla Padilla, Spanish

2009-2010 Recipients
Chad Garland, Slavic
Jay Geyer, Religion
Craig Kreutzer, Religion
Jose Palos, French