School of Literatures, Cultures & Linguistics announces dissertation completion fellowships



The School of Literatures, Cultures & Linguistics is pleased to announce the 2022-2023 Dissertation Completion Fellowships, which provide advanced doctoral students with an academic year of support to complete their dissertations. Eligible candidates are nominated by their departments.

Zhi-Ling Lien (East Asian languages and cultures
Dissertation director: Chilin Shin

John Slattery (Germanic languages and literatures)
Dissertation director: Anke Pinkert

Gorrety Wawire (linguistics)
Dissertation director: Krystal Smalls

Mary Casey (comparative and world literature)
Dissertation director: Dara Goldman

Wafa Abdulla (linguistics)
Dissertation director: Rakesh Bhatt

Miren Antón Lobato (Spanish and Portuguese)
Dissertation director: Eduardo Ledesma

Lingxiao Zhou (East Asian languages and cultures)
Dissertation director: Jeffrey Martin

In addition, we are pleased to announce that Zhi-Ling Lien has also won the Kibbee award, given to the dissertation project which was the highest ranked by the committee and shows particular intellectual promise. The Douglas A. Kibbee Prize was created by colleagues, friends, and students of professor Douglas Kibbee in honor of his distinguished career and service as the first director of the School of Literatures, Cultures & Linguistics, and on the occasion of his retirement in 2010.

Elena Delgado, Antony Augoustakis, and the SLCL Executive Committee (Tania Ionin, Bruce Rosenstock, Misumi Sadler, Jon Solomon, Mara Wade, and Robert Tierney)